Tags

, , , , ,

Ok, it’s official.  I’m going to add my papercrafting blog entries here too.  I bounced the idea about of keeping them on a separate blog in case I ever get onto a design team or whatever (yeah, right!) so that possible offense to readers can be avoided by them never seeing the fact I’m pagan and that I blog on the subject occasionally.  Or that my opinions are freely voiced on my blog (isn’t that what a blog’s supposed to be for anyway?) and I don’t tend to hold much sacred.  Literally.  *Cheeky grin*
Ultimately though, I decided to keep the paper crafting stuff here too, because like my description blurb says, it’s about my life, my beliefs and so on.  My life includes prosaic stuff like making cards and scrapbook pages, so as far as I’m concerned, it’s just one more pointer towards that pagans/witches ARE the people next door/the people in your craft class etc.

I also decided that I would work in metric measurements (millimetres and centimetres), because that’s what we use here in New Zealand.  It’s going to mean having a fast link to a measurement converter program, I’m sure, but the whole inches thing boggles my mind – which spends enough of it’s time boggled, thank you very much!
So, here we have Paper and Glue #1: Owl themed anniversary card.

Owl Anniversary Card  (front)

Owl Anniversary Card (front)

Designer Paper: Kaisercraft Chapter One Collection; Flourish (P667) from my stash.  You should only need one 300x300mm sheet of your chosen paper.
Owls: Core’Dinations sampler pack from a magazine, dark brown and a glittery sandy colour.
Dies: Tattered Lace Owls Toppers die set; TLACD030 ( www.topdogdies.com )
Rub On Sentiment: Kaisercraft; Forever
Alphas: Typeface stickers from stash
Puffy Hearts + Rhinestone: from stash

Start off with a piece of cardstock 350mm x 165mm.  Score at 125mm and 250mm. This should leave you with a 100mm section on the other end.  Fold and crease, putting the shorter side to the inside.  This forms your card blank.

Cut the designer paper for your background:
3 pieces; 110mmx150mm (or smaller/larger if you prefer, I left quite a wide border on mine with these measurements)
1 piece: 85mmx150mm (or smaller/larger if you prefer, I left quite a wide border on mine with these measurements)*
1 length of the trimmed decorative bottom strip of the paper, 150mm long*
* = You could cut 2 pieces of 85mmx150mm and omit the strip if you prefer.  I tend to scrawl hugely, so wanted a good amount of blank paper space to use.

Die cut the owls:
Once from the darker brown and once from the glittery sand coloured Core’Dinations. Using a glue pen (or a very steady hand with a bamboo skewer and craft glue!) adhere the lighter shade to the darker, off setting very slightly to create a shadowed effect.
Add googly eyes to the owls and ensure the cat isn’t wearing one on his rear as he leaves his supervisory position.

Create the sentiment labels/tags using plain scrap card and some of the scraps from the Flourish paper as a background. Trim to desired size/shape.

Assemble the card:
Adhere 2 pieces of the 110×150 on both sides of the front panel, the final piece goes on the centre panel.
The 85×150 goes on the outward facing panel of the smaller section (the optional second piece would go on the other side of same if you were doing it that way) and the strip goes along the outside border edge on the inward facing panel of the smaller section.

Inside of card, smaller panel closed (2nd owl)

Inside of card, smaller panel closed (2nd owl)

Card Heart

Middle of card, fully opened, showing the rub on sentiment – the quote from our wedding stationery. Puffy hearts and rhinestone on right side, which is the back panel of the larger front flap (owl 1)

Position the owls using foam dots or 3D glue on the front panel and the smaller inside panel.
Position and adhere sentiment tags.  Make sure the cat is again well clear of anything that might stick to him.
Centre the rub on inside the card and apply.  Add a little bling where it suits you.
Add your own words/thoughts etc on the blank panel.
Voila!  The photos don’t show the greens of the Flourish paper terribly well, but take my word for it, the colour is lovely, and the vegetation prints on it inspired the idea of having the owls perched on it.

Oh, and random cat mentions?  Gandalf likes to supervise.  This leads to moments of inky paws, fur in the double sided tape and googly eyes on furry bums.  But it’s all part of the fun!