Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHello from our winter-chill home, Wits-End by the Sea, where we last night celebrated longest night/winter solstice.  A delicious roast pork dinner with all the trimmings, followed by whiskey truffles and hot tea, surrounded by candles and the soft lights of our Yule Ent.  Yes, we put up the “Christmas” tree!  But seeing as it’s Yule, and at 7.5 feet tall the tree is rather more like an Ent…but I digress.

Many blessings of the season to you and yours, whether you are welcoming the newborn sun once again or enjoying the height of summer’s bounty.

We here are now almost at the point of revoking the declaration of ‘Plague House!’ and with sheets in the washer and sunshine-filled air wafting into the house from every open door and window possible, we’re finding life more positive, despite the chill.  🙂  Besides, it’s a good chance to dig out all my New Zealand-weight winter clothing and indulge in copious cups of hot tea whilst snickering at my appalling taste in warm socks!  I have also rediscovered my lungs, and they and I are working carefully together to achieve full and complete regular oxygenation at almost full capability again.  Which is something I continually find myself thankful for LOL!

Mr U has been an absolute hero throughout the last couple of weeks, helping out with cooking, hydrating, cuddles and concern; even though he too was as sick as the proverbial dog himself for parts of it.  I guess that’s why he’s such a great Aged  Carer.  Even though there were times his residents saw more of him than I did (the jury is still out on this, as I WAS under the influence of medications and less-than-kindly-sickroom-thinking), given how tenderly he cared for me, I can only smile knowing that several someone’s grandparents, great aunts/uncles etc were also being so richly cared for.  If you have family in residential care/nursing homes, take a moment to thank the staff.  One smile and a thank you can have such a difference on their day too.

And now, anon with the laundry, I’m cleaning house whilst I have air to breathe!  🙂

