Tags

, , , , ,

Found this blog courtesy of Kallan Kennedy posting the link on FB. I love what Gail Wood has to say about life (and Wicca) not being for sissies.
Whilst I’m personally not a Wiccan, Gail’s view on The Rede etc is one I can relate to better than someone who won’t do diddly squat about anything because it’s not allowed in the ‘harm none’ rule.

The Rowdy Goddess

Growing old I love this picture.  It’s from a photography book published in the eighties or people of the older generation.  I have this as a poster in my downstairs bathroom and the caption reads, Growing Old is Not for Sissies.”  It’s in the bathroom because the room is decorated with all kinds of mermaids.  She is one.  Old, fit, pensive, and dripping wet.  I love to swim.  She is a mermaid in all her aged mystery, energy, and power.

“Growing old is not for sissies is a quote from the inimitable actress Bette Davis.  If you are not familiar with her work, she played strong women with great flair.  I’ve learned as I grow older, that I have to explain my allusions and references.  When I was younger, I could assume that almost anyone would know who Bette Davis was.  Now, I’m not so sure.  It was a weird and lonely…

View original post 405 more words

