Tags

, , , , , ,

Take a look at this picture.  What do you see?

Yes, it’s a copy of the Bible, covered in fungus and mould.  Photoshopped?  Extremely likely.

What I see…well, people say I have this habit of presenting a dichotomy when they talk with me – I’ve even lost out on employment opportunities because of this apparent dichotomy I present – but I see two distinct things.  Let me outline them.

 

1)  I see a Bible, covered in mushrooms and mould.  I see an unused holy book.  I see an unused holy book because perhaps the owner doesn’t need to read what others claim that their deity has said.  Rather like the media reports what was said and done, sometimes with their own personal or political slant on things.  However, I’m off tangent.  I see an unused holy book because perhaps the owner chooses to experience their deity on a personal basis, day-to-day, life event by life event.  I see a holy book unused because the owner perhaps knows that their deity is within every person and everything they encounter, each minute of their lives.

2) I see a Bible, covered in mushrooms and mould.  I see an unused holy book whose condition offends me.  There’s an old saying (oft quoted by people who work in the lower echelons of large organisations) “We’re like mushrooms – kept in the dark and fed on bullshit”.  I see a photoshopped offensive image, because this is someone’s holy book.  I see that someone has equated this holy book to a medium for growing mushrooms – the proverbial bullshit.   I consider my own sacred book, painstakingly gathered together, painstakingly bound in a beautiful format by my loving husband and I consider how I would feel if someone photoshopped a picture of it to include mould and mushrooms.   It would hurt.  It would offend.

 

It’s an interesting dichotomy presented in one picture, yes?  Either way, I see a holy book.  That’s the key thing.  How would people react/feel if it were a copy of the Koran?  The teachings of Buddha?  Tao?  Someone’s Book of Shadows?  Winnie the Pooh stories (if you are a child who loves the stories, this isn’t such a stretch!)   Would there be the same dichotomy?  For me personally, yes.

It was interesting to see that most of the people commenting on the image on the Facebook page my husband saw it on were of the first mind – the owner experiences their deity organically and doesn’t need the media to tell them what their deity said/did.  That’s heartening.   I would hope they would also be as offended as I was if it were my sacred book that had been photoshopped to look like it was no more than bullshit…

I’d be interested to hear people’s thoughts!

