Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Darrell on the Day (c) Tom Binnekamp; Dragon on the Payroll 2010

Day 27: What’s the best thing you’ve got going for you right now?

Definitely one of the best things going for me right now is my lovely husband.  Yeah, I’m sappy.  Can’t help it, it’s almost compulsory, because our first wedding anniversary is at Samhain, only 2 weeks away.   For those of you who think I’ve lost my marbles, we celebrate our pagan holidays Southern Hemisphere style, which puts Samhain in April and Beltane in October; the cyclic opposite of what it is in the Northern Hemisphere.  🙂

I can hear some thoughts happening along the lines of “who’d want to marry at Halloween?!  They must be some of those goth pagans or something”.  No, we’re not.  Samhain is the pagan new year, as well as a time when the ancestors and the beloved dead are closest to us, and we wanted to include them in our marriage ceremony.  (See  here for photos and a description of the candle ceremony for this).  So, it was a new year and a new life, and we had family members who’d passed on there in spirit.  It was a lovely experience, and we got a lot of compliments (particularly from the non-pagans) about that part of the ceremony.

Why’s Darrell the best thing I have going for me right now?  He makes me laugh, he lets me cry, he loves me regardless (not an easy thing to do when I’m in one of my angry fits), he rubs my feet (oh what bliss!), and he pretty much told his family to get off their high horses because he was going to make himself happy by marrying me when they decided to implode.  It wasn’t pleasant, it wasn’t (and at times still isn’t) easy but he did it.  His happiness was pinned to me.  Yes, it is a big responsibility.  But I’ll do it, because like he said to me, “I love you.  That’s all there is to it.”

Darrell Henry Undery, you are one of the best things going for me.  I say so, therefore it’s true. 😀

