Tags

, , , , ,

Day 26: Have you ever thought about giving up on life?

For me, this question raises a question in it’s own right – is giving up on life the same a choosing to end one’s life?  Or is it more a case of questioning “why”, “how” and “what the…”?

When my brother died was one of those times I questioned the point in life, as I did when things were less than wonderful in my work-life.  But, I’ve never contemplated giving up on life.  To me, that’s to consider ending life.  Sorry to those who have lost a loved one to suicide, but I think that doing that’s the coward’s way out.   Yes, life hands us lemons and yes, it’s not always easy to make lemonade from them, but that’s how it works.  You have to take the bad with the good so you can have balance in your life and can learn from things.  You question the point of things, you question the reasons for things, but you certainly don’t give up on life because of it.  Who’s to say that 5 minutes later won’t be the moment you’re at your happiest?

I guarantee there’s going to be people that disagree with a few points I made there, but that’s their choice.  Same as I guarantee that there’s people who will consider suicide differently than I do, that’s their belief.  But for me personally, if life gets hard, I pull up my big girl panties and deal.  If dealing with things means to walk away from something or if it means rolling with the punches till I can actually find my big girl panties (I do tend to put them at the bottom of the knicker drawer, how many women like to see their ‘Bridget Jones’ knickers regularly after all?!) I’ll do it.  I’ll probably loose my temper a couple of times, and wonder why more than once.  I’ll even doubt my own sanity too.  But I’ll never think that ending my life is the only answer.

So, have I ever thought about giving up on life?  No.  But I have questioned “why?”  a lot.

