Tags

, , , , , , ,

"A toast to the happy couple!" (c) Dragon on the Payroll 2010

This is day 20 of my 30 Days of Truth blog series. Day 20: Your views on drugs and alcohol.

 

Again, a simple view.  Alcohol is one of the most addictive substances on the planet, yet it’s legal.  However, if it’s used appropriately and sensibly, it can add to a fun time.  I know for a fact that if there’s dancing, I will be more willing to do so if I have a beverage on board – then I don’t mind looking like a frog in a blender LOL!
Then there’s the people for whom taking in alcohol till they fall down unconscious or become extremely violent is the norm.  Even a habit.  The weekly (or in some cases nightly) ‘piss up’.  My view of them is simple too.  They’re in need of help.  Why are they driven to drinking to this extreme?  What has them so angry/hurt that they feel the need to blank themselves or attack others?  They need help, and I’m not the one to give it to them as I’m not qualified to do so.  But if they ask me (when sober, naturally) if I’ll go with them for that first visit to get help, I will.

As for drugs…I’ll assume that we’re talking the usual illegal ones here?  In that case, I have zero tolerance.  If you need to put either plant or chemical into your body to feel good about life or yourself, you also need help.

If we’re talking about the ‘legal highs’ stuff, weeeelll…I’m fairly staunch in my opinion that if you need something like that to achieve an altered state for spiritual practice, you’re going about things a little wrong.  Yes, I’m judgmental like that.  There’s plenty of other methods to use – that thousands of people do use daily – that aren’t shortcuts.  Because that’s how I view the use of ‘legal highs’ (and the illegal ones) for spiritual practice.  If you are using assistance on specific and particular occasions, that’s different to continually using it for every single spiritual event.  Then it becomes a crutch, a requirement to the practice, not something used for a specific and sacred purpose.

If we’re applying the ‘legal highs’ to everyday recreational use, I’m also opinionated.  Why would you need them?  My tolerance is pretty close to zero on this as well.

That’s my views in a nutshell.  Strong, and entirely my own.  I don’t mind if people disagree with me, but they’d better be prepared for me to leave if they start to strongly advocate, advertise or use drugs in my presence.  Excessive alcohol use gets the same treatment.  A couple of wines with a good meal and good company however, I’ll enjoy.  Slainte!

