Tags

, , , , , , ,

after a short hiatus due to internet problems, it’s baaaaackk!!


This is day 17 of my 30 Days of Truth blog series.  Day 17: A book you’ve read that changed your view on something.

Would you believe I couldn’t come up with just one book?  I, in my perpetual need to be different and one better than the rest of the planet, have opted to talk about 2 books that have changed my view on something.  So, here goes!

Oh I am so going to show myself up on this one…really…oh what the heck, I’m not ashamed of reading it.
The book is “To Ride A Silver Broomstick” by Silver RavenWolf, a witchcraft/pagan author.

 

To Ride A Silver Broomstick, by Silver RavenWolf

I know you’re asking how or why that changed my view on anything, let alone something, considering I’ve said I’m a witch/pagan of long standing?  Because it was the first book I read that pretty much gave what I believed in a name.  Not only that, it was the first book of it’s kind I had helped someone else shop for.  And considering that same person I shopped with was the first person I came out of the broom closet to…well, you see why I consider it a book that changed me as much as my view on something.

 

I know there’s a lot of people who rubbish what Silver writes/has written, and who cite that her “oogie boogie, just tell them your a witchy-poo” attitude is part of what brasses them off most, but as far as I’m concerned, at the time I read the book, I needed that attitude to help me reach a point of acceptance that what I was experiencing and believing in wasn’t just some random moment of self-delusion or aggrandisement.  It showed me that there were a hoot-load more people like me in the world.  I was rather comforting to know that there were not only others, but that there were authors amongst them willing to be seen and heard.

I learned a lot from that book, and the others in it’s series.   Call me fluffy bunny if you like.  It’s not the only book(s) I’ve read on the subject after all.

I also gained a good friend from the reading of the book and who can argue with that?

 

"Book of Shadows", by Phyllis Curott

 

The 2nd book that changed my view on something was Phyllis Curott’s “Book of Shadows“.  Yes, another witchy author.  But in this case, she was writing very much so from personal experience.  I generally don’t like autobiographies on account that there’s generally nothing more annoying to me than someone yammering on about themselves (ok, so why in hell am I writing this blog series?!  LOL!).

But this particular book hit a chord.  Phyllis was detailing her personal discovery and search for what she believed in, as well as placing it in the context of living in a modern working-woman’s life.  Which is precisely what I was doing and living.

The book changed my view that I had to be one or the other to be happy;  it showed me it was possible to utilise my witch knowledge in my workplace to make things go more smoothly, to brighten the dreary days.  It showed me that working and witchcraft weren’t exclusive and that it was OK to spend my evenings and free time ‘being witchy’ if that’s what I wanted.  It also pointed out to me that you don’t need all the bells, books and shiny athames to practice.  Zero to Witch in 10 seconds magic came to me from that book.  And I gained an understanding of group-work/practice, and the benefits to self that can be gained from it.  It also highlighted that research and scholarly approaches to learning something like witchcraft/paganism weren’t necessarily a bad thing.   The book showed me that being a witch/pagan was as much about being educated as it was about prancing about in a robe, waving a wand.

It also reminded me that sometimes, when your work-life is hell on earth, you have to take a stand and make it better on the everyday level too, something I’d done for myself only a few months earlier.

So there you have them, 2 books that have changed my views on something.   Or maybe they just reinforced what was already there, I don’t know.  Either way, both have had an effect on my life.  Both have created discussion points for me with friends I had at the time I was reading them.  And what is education without discussion?

