Tags

, , ,

This is day 13 of my 30 Days of Truth blog seies.  Day 13: A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough times.

 

This is a tricky one as well.  I’m such a one for music that moves me, that I’m hard-pressed to specify a band or artist that’s been an emotional support method.  It all depended on my age at the time as much as anything too.

I know in my teens it was Wham!, Duran Duran, AHA et al that were my listening of choice.  When I hit University, I moved into more classic rock (some might call it symphonic rock?) like Queen & Meatloaf with a sprinkling of Billy Joel.  A few years back it was The Beatles and Savage Garden.  Now, it’s a mish-mash of Blackmores Night, Nickelback, Meatloaf, Michael Buble, Queen, George Michael, Savage Garden, Loreena McKennitt, Clannad, Enya, Billy Joel, Pinkthe list could go on for ages really.

And through all of this incredibly pop-cultured stuff, I listened to classical music too.  Beethoven’s 9th always gives me a shiver, as does Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus.  Handel again for his Water Music and Royal Fireworks.  Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos, A few Mozart operas…

You see my dilemma in answering this one?!  Viva La Musica!

