Tags

, ,

This is day 10 of my 30 Days of Truth blog series.  Day 10: Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.
Another loaded one!  Seriously!  At this point in my life, there’s a fair number of people I wish I didn’t know, but I can’t change the fact that I do.  All I can realistically do is act in a method of self-preservation in my dealings with them.  If that means removing myself from contact with them/limiting my contact with them/if I seem to keep them at arm’s distance when I do have to interact, that’s how I’m doing it.    As for letting someone go, at this point, the people who fall into that grouping have well…been let go.

I have a finite amount of time in life, why should I spend it hanging on to people and situations that are toxic – often for both sides involved?  Better to set all free and acknowledge the lesson learned once the hurt’s over.

Having said both those points however, I am guilty of rehashing things in my mind when I’m alone (which is a lot lately) and trying the ‘if things were different in this aspect’ scenarios in my head.  Interestingly, each time I do this, it still winds up with me stepping out/back, but the further along in the situation in that particular ‘what if’ scenario, the worse the ending is.  You know the story;  more hurt, more hassles, more people offended etc.   It’s an annoying habit, this re-hashing, but its as if my conscious mind is double checking the decision my subconscious mind has approved, signed, stamped and acted on.  But as humans, we all need approval to some extent of what we do, be it from peers, parents, relatives or even ourselves.

Someone I let drift or wish I didn’t know?  Dealing and have dealt with them.  *shrugs*  I can still sleep soundly at night too.

