Tags

, , , ,

Victorian Witch (c) Jane Starr Weils

This is day 9 of my 30 Days of Truth blog series.  Day 9: Someone you didn’t want to let go, but who drifted.

How many of us can honestly say that they’ve never let this happen at least once in their lives?  Some are lucky enough to reconnect, and still others loose track of each other for the remainder of their lives.   I have a couple of good examples of this:
a) reconnected – Tasha & Mary – it had to have been at least 5-6 years between when I last spoke with Tasha to when she tentatively asked if I was her friend from back when on Facebook a couple of years ago now.  I was over the moon that she’d reconnected, over the years I’d lost track of them, I had worried, but in my usual lazy manner, I’d not actually made any effort to try and find them again.  At a certain point, I figured that The Universe would either let us reconnect or not, as the case may be.
b) drifted – John – my major friend at High School, probably because we were both ‘outsiders’; he being from another region of the country, me having come from state schools to the semi-private (and religious) school we were both at.  I have smattering contact with his younger brother (a result of said brother being my brother’s close friend for many years), but John himself has drifted off.  I think perhaps it’s because my beliefs and attitudes were so at odds with his, or it might have been a case that he felt more for me than I for him.  I’ll never know, because even his brother suggested I check the phonebook for my former home city.  Which rather begs the question if John even communicates with his family anymore.  I hope so, they were a lovely family, and it’s saddening to think they might be estranged.

So, there’s my examples.  I can’t say with absolute certainty that John is the one I let drift.  There’s also Vivia, a friend I spent many hours and fun times with in a time of my life when I felt like I had no-one and nothing keeping me grounded.  I still have her old address in my mind, the phone number’s lost, but perhaps it’s time to send a letter…yes.  I think I’d like to do that…

