Tags

, ,

This is day 8 of my 30 Days of Truth blog series.  Day 8 – Someone who has made your life hell or treated you badly.

I could do as I did for yesterday’s one, and create a list.  Those who know me can probably guess at a fair number of the inhabitants of said list; the managers, the co-workers, the former friends, the in-laws etc.   But, in creating and naming the people on such a list, it brings up the memories and the hurts again, which in turn, gives me a case of the galloping depression. I don’t need or want that over people best consigned to the darkest recesses of whatever netherworld they may believe in.   My life’s got a finite span, why should I give up any more minutes/hours/days/weeks/months of it to re-thinking and renewing the hurts?

Besides, it also gives them power over me by way of effecting my mood and emotions.   There’s better people in the world to let do that – the singers, the musicians, the artists, the movie-makers, the magic-wielders, the public figures who move me, who strike a resonating chord in my soul and who communicate in ways beyond the usual.  They will get my time.  Never mind if some are centuries dead and gone, something they did/created/said has had enough effect to echo on through time.  That is what’s important.  Not the “…slings and arrows of outrageous fortune…” to quote Shakespeare.

Someone who’s treated me badly or made my life hell?  They don’t exist anymore in my life.  And any future ones will get an equally short shrift.  So mote it be!

 

