Tags

, , , , ,

"An Angel's Lament" Unknown artist

This is part of the 30 Days of Truth blog series.  Day 6 – Something you hope to never have to do.

This one’s moot one as far as I’m concerned.  The thing I’d hoped never to have to do, I’ve done.   I honestly feel that anyone’s who’s never had to do what I did cannot truly understand what it means to have to do so.  What is it you ask?

Go to your sibling’s home, open their bedroom door, look at their dead body and say to the hovering police officer “Yes, that’s him/her.”  Especially when it’s a younger sibling.  Then, you have to sign official papers and once you finally get home again, call your Mum, who’s on the other side of the world caring for your recently-had-surgery Grandmother to tell her the news.

You know that scene in Harry Potter & The Goblet of Fire where Harry brings home Cedric’s body, and Cedric’s Dad is told?  Yeah, that one.  Where Mr Diggory’s wailing.   I can’t watch that, because damn him, the actor has the tone and way of it too exactly right.  I fast forward to the next bit.  I can’t help it.

So, something I never hope to have to do?  Done it.  Got the T-shirt, dishtowel, key-chain and decoder ring.   Everything from here on in will be a piece of cake…I hope.

